Meet Shannon Johnson

This is the fourth part in a series that will help you get to know your Helmke librarians. View previous posts in this series here. Do you have a question for us? Visit our Ask-A-Librarian page and be in touch!


ShannonWhich departments do you work with on campus?

Nursing, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Math, Dental, Hospitality, and Human Services

What are your other major duties?

  • Working with campus partners and the community to advocate for inclusive education for people with disabilities.
  • Partnering with CELT on plagiarism prevention workshops to help faculty design assignments that reduce the likelihood of plagiarism.
  • Training faculty and graduate students on citation management software and helping to identify quality publication outlets.  One of the original members of the IPFW faculty writing circle.

What parts of being a librarian do you enjoy the most?

Helping people  – it’s as simple as that. I enjoy that moment when people ‘get’ something, figure it out.  We get to see that daily.  Being a librarian means you get the best of both worlds – I get to help students grow and learn, and I get to practice all the OCD organizational skills a person could want.

What are some of your research interests?

Folksonomies in fandom – specifically how fanfiction sites have grown and organized information, utilizing conventions taken from print zine days and adapting as technology grows. The way the language of the fandom has developed is fascinating.  I am also the volunteer archivist for the local Girl Scout council, and I work on preserving the 100 years of women’s history contained in our collection.

Is there any resource that you particularly love? Why?

Cinahl rarely fails me. It’s well organized and has wide coverage.

Do you have any hobbies?

  • I have two cats, Slyther and Gryfin – yes I did that on purpose.
  • I enjoy gardening in the summer and baking in the winter.  I volunteer with the Girl Scouts as an Adult Learning Facilitator and volunteer archivist, but I specialize in outdoor training.  I love sharing my passion for nature with leaders who can take what they learn back to their girls.
  • I am also a Board Member for League for the Blind and Disabled which helps to keep me up to date on disability advocacy and keeps me connected to the community.
  • In my spare time I am Fan fiction author. I have stories in Star Trek, Harry Potter, Sherlock Holmes, and a few other fandoms.  I started writing in 2001 and while I don’t have nearly as much time these days I still post regularly.

 

Learn more about Shannon and her favorite resources on our Facebook page this week!

 

 

